An Old Love, A New Challenge

December 31, 2009

New Year’s Eve–The End of 2009!

Filed under: Uncategorized — akstracy @ 7:49 pm

Wow! Is it already the end of 2009? Crazy! I remember when everyone was freaking out about the world ending 10 years ago tonight. I also remember starting college 3 and a half years ago thinking graduating in 2010 was sooo far away. Now I’m wishing the next 6 months would slow down a little bit!

Anyway, now to what I’m really supposed to blog about! I am back into training! Yay! I had my one week check up yesterday and my doctor asked if I had any questions. I asked when I could run again. He cleared me to run! Of course, in all of my excitement, I forgot to ask all of the important questions about my stitches and foods but that is ok! 🙂 I can run! And that is exactly what I did!

He told me to start slower than I was going before surgery and to expect a little bleeding and more pain. So, I ran 5 miles in 48 minutes. It was a little slower than normal. It felt great while I was running…afterward, not so much. I could feel my heart throbbing in my jaw for about an hour. But–no blood! 🙂 Totally worth it.

Today, I was a little stiff when I woke up. I went for one really long walk (2 hours) and one shorter walk (about 20 min) this past week so I wouldn’t go absolutely crazy. Other than that, I pretty much sat on the couch for a week. So, being stiff after going back out and running 5 miles was no surprise. I went over to the beach to run again this afternoon. I didn’t really have a plan–bad idea. I ran about a mile and then decided to do some speed work. I did a slow jog and then sprinted the chorus of each song. I made it 4 songs. Rihanna’s “Shut Up and Drive” just about killed me. I turned around and jogged back. It was 40 minutes total but I didn’t check the actual distance.

It seems to me that the common theme today/tomorrow is to become very philosophical, have high hopes, and create great goals for 2010. I’m not trying to follow that trend. I don’t think that reading and writing “2010” instead of “2009” will change anything regarding my thoughts, motivation, determination, or habits. I’ve been reminded constantly throughout this past week that each day could be the end of me (as I should be reminded daily). Sounds morbid, but true. So, at the risk of being philosophical, I would encourage whoever may be reading this to stop making resolutions that you will start tomorrow/next year. (Tomorrow is next year…crazy! 🙂 ) Instead, stop talking about what you plan to change and begin acting upon those changes today…or…be content in who God has made you to be! (novel idea, right? 🙂 )

That is it for 2009! Happy New Year! Be safe tonight!

6 weeks til race day!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

